casa feronia

DE   TR  

History & Naming Story of Feronia


In the old Roman belief , Feronia represented the Goddess of  “abundance”, “fertility”, “prosperity”, “fruitfulness” and “wealth”.

In ancient Roman mythology, Feronia was known as  “Goddess of Forests and Fountains”.

Feronia’s roots derived from ancient cities of Sabini and Falisci.

In ancient times, every year at November 13th, in Soratte Hill, Italy a public festival was organized and Italian priests walk bare feet on burning coal.

The slaves in Feronia Temple at Terracina were freed in this festival therefore Feronia is also accepted as “Goddess of Freedom”.


Settled on grassy plains of Bybassios ancient city with a history dating back to B.C. 3000 and being a natural protected area (Sit),

Orhaniye is a beautiful, small Aegean village with a nice sea-coast.

Carians, who founded the Caria civilization around late B.C. 2000 in Southwest Anatolia, controlled the region.

According to Greek historian Herodotus, who is also known as the father of history,

the name Caria derived from their legendary king Kar and Carians were  inhabitans of Anatolia.

The region was later under control of Egypt, Assyria, İonia, Dor,  Lydia and Persia respectively.

After winning Persians, Alexander The Great took the region back to Caria which was under Macedonia governance at that time.

The region was later under control of Roman Republic (In ancient Roman times, Rome was governed as a republic) from B.C. 140 to 13th century.

Later controlled by Byzantian Empire, than the region was joined to Turkish land

by Menteşeoğulları Principality of Anatolian Seljuk Empire in 13th century. By 15th century, in 1450, Menteşeoğulları Principality

was taken under governance of Ottoman Empire.  From 1450 to 1923, the region was run by Ottoman Empire.

In this period of time, the Greeks and Turks lived  together  and the Greek name of Orhaniye was Gırvasıl meaning Vasil with grizzle hair.

After the First World War, the region was invaded by Italians for 2-3 years.

The Turkish army won the War of Indepence with heroic epics and the Turkish Republic was founded by

The Great Leader and Pioneer  Mustafa Kemal Atatürk in October 29th, 1923.

And the region became part of Turkish Republic. With Treaty of Lausanne signed in July 24th, 1923;

a population exchange was done between Greek and Turkish people living in the region.

After Greeks returning to Greece and leaving all their belongings, the name of the village was changed to Orhaniye.

The local inhabitans of the village are the grand children of nomad Turkmens,

who run away from Mongolian invasions in Middle Asia, and settled down in the region.

In recent years, with its developing tourism opportunities,

Orhaniye embraces people from various countries and different nationalities,

who are coming as tourists or buying a property and settling in Orhaniye, living together in harmony.

Casa Feronia

Surrounded by grand mountains and emerald green trees, in a spectacular nature which gives peace of mind and a feeling of serenity

with a rich history dating back to B.C. 3000 and located in a generous geography,

we named our unique stone house as Casa Feronia, a house belonging to Goddess of Forests and Fountains.

We believe that Feronia who represents abundance, fertility, prosperity and wealth will bring luck to our house in piece of heaven.

“All rights of content are reserved.” Casa Feronia ©2013